Meet the Team

Meet the Diagnostics North East Steering Group

Image of Michael Wright

Dr Michael Wright

Deputy Medical Director, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Chair of Diagnostics North East


Mhairi Anderson

Operations Manager, Diagnostics North East and Therapeutics North East

Image of Nick Reynolds

Professor Nick Reynolds

Professor of Dermatology and Director of Diagnostics at Newcastle University and Honorary Consultant Dermatologist at Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Image of Andrew Blamire

Professor Andrew Blamire

Dean of the Translational and Clinical Research Institute and Professor of Magnetic Resonance Physics in the Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University


Dr Victoria McFarlane Reid

Executive Director for Business, Development and Enterprise

Image of Alastair Burt

Professor Alastair David Burt

Director of NovoPath, Theme Lead for Precision Medicine, Genomics and Informatics at Newcastle University and Vice Chair, Integrated Covid Hub NE Innovation Board

Image of John Isaacs

Professor John Isaacs

Associate Medical Director for Research and Consultant Rheumatologist at Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Image of John Simpson

Professor John Simpson

Professor of Respiratory Medicine at Newcastle University, an honorary consultant in Respiratory Medicine at Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Image of Andrew Sims

Dr Andrew Sims

Head of Northern Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering Department, Director of the Newcastle External Assessment Centre for the NICE Medical Technology Evaluation Programme, Deputy Director of the NIHR Newcastle In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative

Hannah Powell

Hannah Powell

Chief Operating Officer for Newcastle Health Innovation Partners (NHIP)

Image of Russell Watkins

Russell Watkins

Commercial Director at the Academic Health Science Network for the North East and North Cumbria